GIPS at DDW 2018

DDW:  June 2-5, 2018, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, DC

DDW Clinical Symposium: The Rodger Haggitt Gastrointestinal Pathology Society Symposium: Understanding your Pathology Report and what to do next: challenging topics and their clinical relevance
June 3, 2:00-3:30PM
Location: 151 B- Convention Center
Session number: 2460
Moderator: Dr. Maria Westerhoff

Speakers: Wendy Frankel, Rebecca Wilcox, Eric Swanson

  1. Wendy Frankel (with Peter Stanich): Challenges in Colorectal Cancer Microsatellite Instability
    • Objectives:
      • To review microsatellite instability in colorectal cancer
      • To understand the importance of clear reporting in Lynch Syndrome screening
      • To know the importance of communication between pathologists and gastroenterologists
  2. Rebecca Wilcox (with Eric Ganguly): GI biopsies in the era of immunotherapy
    • Objectives:
      • Define immune checkpoint inhibitors and summarize their current use in gastroenterology oncology.
      • Recognize and manage the unique checkpoint inhibitor side-effects, so-called immune-related adverse events (irAE).
      • Specifically identify histopathology features of checkpoint inhibitor related colitis.
  3. Eric Swanson (with Priyanka Kanth): Polyps in Cowden’s Disease
    • Objectives:
      • Describe the diagnostic features of an intramucosal lipoma and how to differentiate from its mimics.
      • Understand the significance of an intramucosal lipoma found during colonoscopy.
      • Recognize the clinical criteria for a diagnosis of Cowden syndrome.

Membership Application

Not A Member?

GIPS members have access to Journal Watch, Case of the Month, job and fellowship listings, and more! >>>LEARN MORE

GIPS Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Anirban Maitra, recipient of the 2021 Jack... Read more

Congratulations to Dr. Thomas Smyrk, recipient of the 2021 Harvey... Read more

Abstract Award Winner: Alex Taylor, University of Michigan: Measuring Submucosal... Read more

Congratulations to Dr. Stanley Hamilton, recipient of the 2020 Harvey... Read more

Congratulations to Dr. Reet K. Pai, recipient of the 2020... Read more