Travel Award

The GIPS Travel Award is given annually by the GIPS to a pathology trainee with a demonstrated interest in gastrointestinal pathology. Factors considered in the evaluation of applicants include exposure or lack thereof to GI pathology subspecialty training and demonstrate interest in GI pathology (as evaluated based on CV, publications/abstracts and/or personal communication). GIPS membership is not required in order to apply for this award. The award comprises $500 for travel expenses and up to $1,000 to cover the cost of attending one of the courses listed below.

The standard courses usually supported are as follows, pending availability:

Additionally, GIPS is happy to consider providing support to attend any other reputable online or in-person course with a GI pathology focus (eg, a USCAP interactive microscopy course).

The Travel Award does not expire and therefore does not need to be used in the year it was awarded.


Past Winners

2024 Travel Award: Divya Salibindla, University of Cincinnati
2023 Travel Award: Mina Farag, McGill University
2022 Travel Award: Rupinder Brar, Albany Medical Center
2021 Travel Award: Susan Karki, Danbury Hospital
2020 Travel Award: Mouyed Alawad, SUNY Downstate
2019 Travel Award: Debasmita Das, Danbury Hospital
2018 Travel Award: Ayesha S. Siddique, Hartford Hospital
2017 Travel Award: Ryan F. Coates, University of Vermont Medical Center
2016 Travel Award: Courtney Thomas, Northeast Ohio Medical Center/Summa Health System
2014 Travel Award: Rahul Jawale, Baystate Medical Center
2013 Travel Award: Brankica Paunovic, Danbury Hospital
2012 Travel Award: William W. Bivin, Allegheny General Hospital
2011 Travel Award: Stephanie L. Claasen, Madigan Army Medical Center
2010 Travel Award: Na’im Fanaian, Orlando Health; Uyen Phuong Le, University of Vermont
2009 Travel Award: Soumya Pandey, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center; Tanya Varma, Louisiana State University; Xiaoping Zhou, The Ohio State University; Christina Arnold, UT Southwestern
2008 Travel Award: J. Schallheim, George Washington Hospital; Jeffrey Henderson, University of Arizona; Dustin Shackleton, OHSU; Sally Easter, University of Colorado; Rachel Hudacko, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
2007 Travel Award: John Carpenter, University of Arizona; Camtu Truong, University of Oklahoma; Cory Fraser, University of Hawaii; Mikhail Lisovsky, University of Massachusetts; Angela Bartley, University of Arizona
2006 Travel Award: Asima Arslan, U. Medicine & Dentistry; Christopher N. Chapman, Baystate Health Systems/Tufts Medical University; Robert L. Hutton, Sr., Brooke Army Medical Center; Roger Klein Moreira, Emory; Alexandros D. Polydorides, New York Presbyterian Hospital
2004 Travel Award: Heike Varnholt, Baystate Medical Center
2002 Travel Award: Carol Willis, University of Missouri
2001 Travel Award: Glenda Amog, Danbury Hospital

Membership Application

Not A Member?

GIPS members have access to Journal Watch, Case of the Month, job and fellowship listings, and more! >>>LEARN MORE


No Sessions Found.